Posted by: minz | September 19, 2008

The 9:30 habit

I’m giving Santi another reason to cringe, for the nth time but for an entirely novel reason and I love it. See, I was never fond of telenovelas, koreanovelas, chinovelas (wait, maybe with the exception of Meteor Garden, but c’mon who on Asia didn’t?) I couldn’t muster the patience to wait for it at night, much less everyday for months. But like they say, there’s always a first time for everything. Well, here is mine.

Unlike the others that came before, Kahit Isang Saglit is different. Two people from two different worlds, literally. Rocky (Jericho’s character) is a PDEA agent who finds himself on a mission to entrap a big-time drug lord doing dirty work in Malaysia. Garie (Carmen Soo’s character) is a half-Malaysian, half-Pinay heiress whose only dream was to find her Filipino father who disappeared when she was 9.

They collide inside a cab, in the heart of Kuala Lumpur and …Mina was hooked. I don’t know what it is that reeled me in. I’m trying to convince myself that it’s the sight of the Petronas Towers hovering around the Malaysian skyline–I almost wanted to book a flight to KL when the series started last Monday. But no, that’s not it. I’m just a sucker. For love in time of cholera, tigdas, bird flu what have you. That kind of mushy stuff that makes Santi  (and most other husbands) want to barf. I’m not even going to put into English what I feel every night at 9:30 because I can’t. Kinikilig ako, shet. At the same time, I’m cheering Rocky and Garie on with matching clapping of hands. Break away! Take off! Fight for your love!

And this time, without batting an eyelash I have to say Jericho trumps Papa P. If it were true that Carmen Soo caused his acrimonious break-up with Heart Evangelista, I can’t so blame her. Echo has my 31-year old heart beating like it was 16 and never knew heartbreak. HA!

Enough. Enough. Someone beside me is threatening to nosebleed.

A parting shot from tonight’s episode,

Rocky to Garie: “Hindi kita gusto! mahal kita”

All together now, Awwwwwwwwwww.

Responses

  1. The exact words were: “Hindi lang kita gusto! Mahal kita!”

    I’ve never followed teleseryes before either. But this is not your usual, run-of-the-mill kind, and it’s worth your 30 minutes. Unfortunately, it’s ending this week. Very good run, though.

    Jericho and Carmen really nailed it as Rocky and Garie and that’s the Magic of KIS. Beware, there are so many, many followers of the show.

  2. Hi Alena!

    I stand corrected! And true, it’s definitely one of the better telenovelas. I am waiting for the DVD edition so I can watch it whenever I feel the urge to swoon.

    Cheers to KIS and to its legions of fans:”)


Leave a Reply

Categories

