Posted by: minz | November 6, 2008

The day America Baracked the Vote

I won’t pretend to know the ins and outs of American politics. But I do know that their economy bears directly on the price of gas my husband pays for or the pandesal I eat every morning. So I do mind it. And it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure that their economy is in shambles or that they are in a hopeless war with two countries where thousands die everyday. It affects me. Something has got to change, that much I know.

I was in a middle of a lunch date when the news came in that Barack Obama was elected 44th President of the United States. Right then, I wished I was in the middle of Times Square whooping it up with thousands of New Yorkers who had waited for this day to come. Change and Hope, big words uttered by a “skinny man with a weird sounding name.” Barack Obama offered Hope, in all its audacity, and America believed he can lead them to it. He was smart, charismatic–and he is also black.

An African-American woman in a  CNN interview tearfully claimed, “This is the day that the Lord has made”. And indeed, for them, it is. Finally, Martin Luther King’s “dream” will get its one shot at coming true. He dreamed that one day a black man in America will be “judged by the content of his character and not by the color of his skin”.

Today, Barack Obama’s win underscores two things that still hold true in our world. Hope is a beautiful thing and that nations  might forget but never really lose sight of it. More than that, people see beyond color and history for our differences are more imagined than they are real.

Congratulations, America! Your victory is the world’s.

Now, my pandesal will hopefully stay within my reach.

Responses

  1. You’ve offered some wonderful insights here. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  2. I have to admit that although I knew Obama was holding a consistent lead, it was still rather too close to call a complete victory for him until it was announced he had won the presidency. Although I am as yet unable to vote, I have to admit that his ascendancy to the Presidency has restored my faith in this country. I thought that “traditional” and “conservative” America would not allow an African American to lead them, but I am proud that the people chose well.

  3. Who would have thought, Dinna? It certainly put America back into the map in that people actually think the nation has gotten over the age-old race issues. It’s not a baby step, really. Electing Obama is truly a monumental and historic step to equality between citizens. I just wish they could have done the same with Prop 8:(


Leave a Reply

Categories

