Posted by: minz | January 2, 2009

Making the New Year, “New”

Whew. That was fast. It seemed like yesterday when I flew back from New York and re-started my life here in Manila. Now that I think about it, the first half of 2008 I spent job-hunting, hitting the gym, bumming with Sofia and going out with friends. I must say that all of these paid off.

While I was left unemployed for the first six months, I think holding out, career-wise, was the better move. I can’t imagine doing something else than what I do now in JG Summit. I heart labor and all my other “laborers” in the department. This is where I belong and corporate lawyering is what I’m meant to do. In 2008, I found my niche as a lawyer. That’s something I’ll keep in mind everyday.

On the health arena, it was a good year, too. When I got back from NYC, I weighed in at 168 pounds. Santi says that in boxing, I’ll make the heavyweight, easy. Ouch. So I lived in the gym for half of 2008, got on a workable diet and started work. I lost about 18 pounds by July of 2008. Neat, huh! And then I slacked. Partly because the adjustment at work left me no time to squeeze in some gym time. I gained five pounds back, which is not so bad. Still, I’d like to make 140 by the end of this year, or even less. me xmas 08

Let’s talk friendships. I’d say 2008 was a pretty crazy year for me in this arena. I lost one of my best friends to America, I’m still dealing with that loss until now. It’s tough but I can’t have it all, right? As an exchange, however, I gained a few friends at work which is nice. Imagine being around people 10 hours a day that you don’t like? C’est tres horrible. I’m thankful that it’s cozy and warm at work. I wish I can say the same for some friendships that went awry at the tail-end of the year. I’ve written extensively about this and I don’t think there’s anything more to say. Of course, I’d like for it to get better. That remains part of my prayers.

On the love department, two words. Sofia and Santi. All there is and ever will be.  Underneath all my desires to become a better person, you’ll see them there, winking and making faces. 2008 has fortified our family in ways that were unimaginable when I was in New York. We bonded over out-of-town trips then our first ever out-of-the-country vacation in Hong Kong. (I swear I did it without the yaya!!! a clap praise for me!) This year, we plan to embark on another one to Singapore or Bangkok. Lord help me.

As I make way for 2009. I’ve listed a few goals from the top of my head. I don’t want to call them resolutions as those tend to be over-used. “Goals” sound more achievable and less frightening, har, har.

1. Visit Baclaran every Wednesday night. Given that we live beside the Church, there is simply no reason to miss the novena.

2. Hit the gym at least 3 times a week. I used to this everyday last year so thrice sounds negotiable enough.

3.  Write more often. I’d like to upgrade this blog and get hosted. I think it’s about time as a gift to myself.

4. Give 101 percent to work. Make initiative my last name.

5. Spend more time with Sofia. Especially now that she’s taking on pre-school. Tutoring beckons!

6. Love Santi more. This is my goal every year. If you had a husband like mine, you’ll know what I mean.

Happy New Year, everyone! May 2009 be better, grander and happier for all of us!

Leave a Reply

Categories

