Posted by: minz | January 12, 2009

Never the bride nor the bridesmaid. Just a proud wife:)

Last weekend, one of Santi’s BFFs got hitched after 14 years of engagement. Yup 14 years. If only for that, their wedding is one for the books. They have been together since Santi and his friend were college freshmen! I met the bride when I started dating Santi 8 years ago and while she walked the aisle, I felt relief more than anything. She deserves an award for waiting that long.

As expected, Santi was groomsman. Hubby was dapper in a black suit. image0543If I wasn’t particularly envious of this (yet another) groomsman gig of his, I’d say I was a pretty proud wife. Santi has been groomsman for a  total of six times since I met him. I’ve been bridesmaid ONCE ,  thank you very much. He gets a kick out of reminding me of that sad fact. Says that my girlfriends are setting me up for a major disappointment in that area. He says, how can they marry? “They are either single moms who sworn off dating, amazona women lawyers or…gay.” So there. That aptly explains my current bridesmaid-less state. Hurray!

image0603Back to the epic wedding, the ceremony was brief and solemn. The way I’d prefer it, if I was the bride. I think the couple kept it that way considering they waited a decade for this. They cut to the chase, so to speak. It was over in less than 45 minutes. Bride was ecstatic! Groom was his usual, cheerful self. I hurried to have a picture taken with my dashing husband, who was getting cranky from hunger. 

The reception ,on the other hand, was lavish. I never thought Sofitel had elegant ballrooms like that. image0732I swear it was grander than the Shang’s Rizal Ballroom where all of the who’s who in this country seem to hold their reception. I especially loved the chandeliers. They were lightning-shaped which I thought was neat. 

The food was yummy. Cocktails and pica-pica were served by image0651the pool.The guests got to watch the sunset by the bay which was a nice photo-op. My famished husband held up every waiter who passed by and took a lion’s share of the appetizers. Dinner was served an hour or so after. The thing I like about hotel food is that they have presentation. And for me, half of what is good to eat is the way the food looked like before you take a bite. I liked what I saw:)

After the lovely meal, the program started. I seriously think the couple wanted to do away with most of the wedding frills. image0781There were no cake-cutting, releasing of doves and wine-drinking. Only the tossing of the bouquet and garter were made. After the bouquet was caught, the couple and their  parents thanked the guests. The wedding is over.

Even without the glitz and the glamor of most weddings, I told the groom before we left that it was one of the most beautiful weddings I’ve ever attended. It was classy without being over-indulgent. It was quick yet meaningful.

And I loved their wedding song. It can be mine and Santi’s  if we ever get to do the whole church bit. It was the theme from the movie Chances Are. Saps like me would know the lyrics by heart. It is just fitting that the couple’s epic love-story would have this song to end their night.

                After all

Well, here we are again;
I guess it must be fate.
We’ve tried it on our own,
But deep inside we’ve known
We’d be back to set things straight.

I still remember when
Your kiss was so brand new.
Every memory repeats,
Every step I take retreats,
Every journey always brings me back to you.

After All the stops and starts,
We keep coming back to these two hearts,
Two angels who’ve been rescued from the fall.
After All that we’ve been through,
It all comes down to me and you.
I guess it’s meant to be,
Forever you and me, After All.

When love is truly right
(This time it’s truly right.)
It lives from year to year.
It changes as it goes,
Oh, and on the way it grows,
But it never disappears, 

Always just beyond my touch,
You know I needed you so much.
After All, what else is livin’ for?

 

  

Responses

  1. OMG! I still couldn’t believe he’s already hitched! there goes my raket buddy! i hope he”s not good as gone forever 😦

    Mixed emotions ako, ate… di ko alam kung kaya ko pa rin shang kaladkarin kung saan pagbalik ko jan since married na ang lolo ko! 🙂 but I’m really happy that he’s settled down…

  2. haller ate, i think you are the one who is “good as gone foreever” in our lives!

    If you were there, you’d be touched. The wedding was beautiful! I cried as usual!

    But I’m sure you can still pester him–mabait si wena! Saka she got what she wanted didn’t she?:)

  3. wow… how i wish i was there 😦 well, please extend my congratulations and best wishes to the newly-weds.

  4. hi jv!

    nice to see you here in my corner:)
    Will forward the greetings to rangie–di bale you’ll be the star of your own show soon:)

    Regards to tina!


Leave a Reply

Categories

