Posted by: minz | February 17, 2009

All is fair in love and ..non-hyphenation

Since Santi and I exchanged ” I dos” three years ago, I can’t count how many times I’ve been asked why I haven’t hyphenated and/or why I still use my maiden name. Recently in facebook, a former professor thought Santi and I had broken up and that I’ve gone back to being single. I intend to message him back and say that it’s the funniest form of  “that question” I’ve been hit with. And it’s simply not true. I just choose not to hyphenate. For one, the law does not require me to do so.

Art.370 of the Civil Code provides that a married woman may use:

(1) Her maiden first name and surname and add her husband’s surname, or
(2) Her maiden first name and her husband’s surname or
(3) Her husband’s full name, but prefixing a word indicating that she is his wife, such as “Mrs.”
 

It bears stressing that the law uses the word “may” and not “shall” evincing that a married woman may continue using her first name and maiden name. Legally, that pretty much covers me. Whoopee.

But essentially, I use my maiden name, especially in my practice, as a way of paying it back to my dad, Boy P. He sent me to school. He paid for my law school tuition. He gave me unconditional love and baon for 24 years.  Thus, he deserves all the credit for having an “Atty. Prado” in his house. He has earned his props and I’m only too happy to give it to him.

Besides, I play fair. I proudly declare, in no uncertain terms,  that I AM Mrs. Soriano in the parlor, spa, grocery, derma, Nine West, ticketnet because that is Mr. Soriano’s turf. He takes care of me:)      

 Although at times, a saleslady or two have gone hoarse calling after me, “Mrs. Soriano, Mrs. Soriano may naiwan po kayo!”.  It didn’t even register that they meant me until they shoved the shopping bag to my face .  On some off-days like that, I tend to space out and reckon they are referring to Betty. My mum-in-law. The original Mrs. Soriano. HA! Napaos tuloy sila😛 

That’s the story of my non-hyphenation. Nothing earthshaking or thought provoking. It might be seen as another badge of my renegade self but not really. I’m just a girl, standing in front of ..two men and telling them I love them both.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

