Posted by: minz | May 26, 2009

It’s my first year and it’s been nothing but awesome.

Three hundred sixty days later, here I am getting the hang of labor-lawyering—investigating cases, drafting recommendations, churning out position papers. Whatever insecurities I had when I started out as new lawyer in 2006 is replaced by quiet confidence that I am good at what I do and that I am still willing to learn.

Every morning when I enter my little corner in the office and look outside at my view of city, I am reminded of how it was such a stroke of luck that I am in the company of the nicest office-mates an employee can ask for, working for the best bosses in the world. At the end of the day, these are the most important things for me. I am happy where I am, loving every moment of what I do.

Though it hasn’t been a bed of roses, the thorns did not prick too deep. There was that hell of a month in March when I ate investigations for lunch and position papers for dinner. Or the time when a co-worker suddenly went AWOL and his load was dumped on me. The good Lord had mercy and brought his lazy ass to resign (via e-mail at that!). Whatever complaints I harbored, I kept to myself. Besides, it has never been my style to whine.

Today, it seems like I have come full circle. It hasn’t been long but that’s how it certainly feels. That I am no longer a square peg in a hole like it used to be when I first started calling myself “attorney”. Today, I fit perfectly.

Cheers!

Responses

  1. Ate, yesterday was also officially my one year here in Cali. It feels nice. šŸ™‚

  2. i know, i remember! I officially lost to JV hahaha.


Leave a Reply

Categories

